Happy Valentine’s Day ~ Pink is the color of 2011

I received my March Issue of House Beautiful last week.  Their “Color Issue” follows Pantone’s 2011 Color of the Year, which is a pink named Honeysuckle.

Why do I care? Mostly I don’t.

My design work tends toward classic.  I work with clients to create rooms and homes that are not easily dated.   Updating historic design themes, combining traditional American details into what I call Americana.   Generally I avoid anything that is trendy because one year’s Hot item, is passé the following year.

Having said that I do love color.  And I am always looking for ways to add personality, character and drama into my clients home.  So if pink is this year’s color, what would I do with it?

How about a powder room with a white vanity, white trim work, and a rich warm pink on the walls.  Three years from now it is not a big deal to change the paint color if you tire of it.  Maybe we pick a khaki for the walls that has a blush undertone and you accessorize with pink.  Or, I recently had a client that loved turquoise and in her kitchen we painted the inside of the cabinets and the back-splash, Benjamin Moore, Old Pick-up Truck Blue.

That same thing could be done in a historic pink like Benjamin Moore, Queen Anne Pink HC-60.

It is your home, enjoy it.

Bruce Gingrich is a designer and custom builder based in New Holland, PA.  His company, Glenn Gingrich, Inc. is a design, build, remodel firm that executes projects from conception to completion.  His functional insight, meticulous planning, building expertise, and customer collaboration can give you the living space of your dreams.

This entry was posted in Details and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment